Posted on

Letter From Your Bartender from: Erin @ Gatsbys – NYC

“And here we have arrived at the so very complex concept of tipping. These are some basic rules when it comes to tipping properly, and please remember the only money that we make at work is from tips. My paycheck is literally “VOID” every week because at $3.70 an hour once taxes are taken out, there is actually zero left.

1. Tip 20% every time.
2. Tip on water orders.
3. Tip on free drinks
.
4. Tip at least $1 per free drink. Like I have stated before I make nothing off of sales, so whether it costs $15 a drink or nothing at all, I still need a tip.

It will help you to get your next one with lightning speed and a friendly smile.

“Another thing that I do not understand is guys flirting with me all night long, asking me out, scrawling their number on a napkin, and then NOT tipping me 20%. First off, I am not going to date anyone I meet as a customer at my bar, ever. I am especially not going to date someone so wasted that he sat there my entire nine hour shift staring at my chest, and mostly I am not going to even consider dating Prince Charming if he doesn’t even tip well! Also, for you guys, do not touch me, ever. What makes you think you can reach over the bar and touch my arm or hand? When I have to go to your office and ask to open a new bank account, and you get a phone call that interrupts the process, do I grab or caress your arm so that your attention comes back to me? No, so I ask for the same respect back.”

“Something nice that you can do to help you get quicker service is offer to buy me a shot. I will have one with you and I will probably charge you for it. But you will most likely end up getting quite a few shots back from me for free, so that in the end you will have spent less money and gotten more drunk, and I will be in a better mood overall. Everybody wins!”

Read On .

About Tales from the Bar Side

Tales from the Bar Side: Lady who tends bar at brick and mortar bars and in private pour practice events.

2 responses to “Letter From Your Bartender from: Erin @ Gatsbys – NYC

  1. Tim Sheridan ⋅

    Speaking of men sitting at the bar for nine hours…

    By any chance are you the Bartender formerly from Gatsby’s in Davie, FL that moved to Long Island? If so, it would be great to catch-up.

    If not, If not, sorry to bother you, However, I have to commend that Erin for how she would reach across the bar, and shake the hand of her new customers. That alone had me come back the next time, and eventually she had a trusted, tip bearing, loyal customer for a little over 2 years until I stopped travelling to South Florida, and she moved to Long Island.

    -Tim from Chicago

  2. Freddie

    Amen!!! The worst is refilling 20 ice tea refills and making a .25 cent tip!

Leave a Reply

