Posted on

Blazing Saddles ride again in ye old Mc Farland

I saw Def Crew was playing at Con Safos so I got on the horn, called MY crew and told one of my favorite bartenders, my home skillet, Miss China Moon that I was coming in to her abode this evening, and to have one of her famous drink specials ready.  She chuckles…

We all get there and I see exactly what I want, a hug from Izzy and China’s grinning holding up a bottle of Bacardi.  “I saw you come in.  The Dominican Goddess has your name on it mami.”  I tell her I’m still hooked on those Reggaeton Rainbows and 3 Legged Monkey from the past couple weeks. Time to get up, flirt and shake my groove thang!

The shows going well and the crowd is hyped up on the music; at about 12:30 or so I hop down from my bar stool as I’m about to call it a night because I’ve got a 2 jobs to report to tomorrow/today.  One of the owners comes in and whispers to China, by the look of her face and the statement, “why?  what for?” I know this can’t be good…”  China steps back, puts down the bottles she had been about to serve, turns the bar lights up and walks over to Angela, leaning in and spoke in a low voice.  The chain of upset and confused looks continued as the bar manager came behind and asked why the lights were on as of course it wasn’t time for Last Call.

I get back up on my stool and wait.  China tells the up and coming patrons that she missed last call and is no longer serving alcohol.  No one really frets or objects, but she looks at me and gives me a head nod to follow her around by the kitchen door.

We’re speaking when who walks in?  Two of the most Barney Fife looking mugs I’ve ever seen in my life.  I swear, a couple McFarland cops with their hands on their hips/guns like they were walking into Who Knows Where. I know they were in Shock and Awe when they saw all those white folks in there.

They must be REALLY bored out there because evidently what happened was the owners came in from that long ass mtg at the village and not 10 mins later, the cops show up just to see if they could catch them fucking up.

Whoa …  I  mean if some people don’t want to be around people of color why don’t they stop tanning and move to, to, wait, “them coloreds are ALL OVER the place! (banjo music playing in the background…)

I wonder if the board in making their 3 hour decision realize that they just eliminated the income of some really good people.

Four:  The number of women bar tenders working some night shifts in this tough economy to help make ends meet.  (and no they are NOT all single mothers having a tribe of children.

I guess no ones talking about the stabbing and people being punched out and falling in the water in other McFarland bars on Exchange St., Erling Ave, Sigglekow, Hwy 51 and Larson Beach Rd…

45 – 90 day suspension; hmmm just long enough to bring them to the brink of closing without looking like the bad guys to the public (vs. revoking it completely.)  I’m sure this is just what chief Lick Nuts/Leck needed to get his dick rock hard and all this attention will allow him to purchase a new set of tweezers to pull it out with the set of balls he’s missing…

I see from the nbc15.com comments that people really think.  Don’t tell me it’s the music being played there one night a week, or that it’s Old School or Marcy and the Highlights on Sundays or Zumba people or the Salsa/Banda heads, etc.

Just be honest with us and above all, be honest with yourselves.

I told China to apply at my job or a couple others for tending bar @ night, they’d love to have her and her crew around no matter what color they are or what music they listen to.  I don’t know how her and her beau bought a house out there.

Comments Welcome as always…

About Tales from the Bar Side

Tales from the Bar Side: Lady who tends bar at brick and mortar bars and in private pour practice events.

4 responses to “Blazing Saddles ride again in ye old Mc Farland

  1. conspikuos ⋅

    Look, McFarland wants to keep it’s community white. that’s all there is too it. They never wanted any Latinos, or African Americans or any non-white race there period. We don’t expect a warm welcome by any means, just a right to run a business like everyone else. We are not doing anything wrong! If anything, we’ve beefed up our security, changed nights around, and altered the music format. But even that doesn’t matter. They want us out of there. So just like the video says: “It is what it is”

  2. yeah right ⋅

    I’m a resident of mcfarland and I’ve heard about your club.

    its not hip hop that’s making people nervous.

    its the fact that its a bunch of latinos in white mcfarland and now there has been incidents of violence.

    I could care less if you stay or go but if you are expecting a warm welcome in this town you’ll be waiting awhile.

    try the south or east side of Madison.

    mcfarland cops are bored and now you’ve been labeled as a place where they can make a bust.

    -a white guy

  3. A Chris Rock Lover ⋅

    Hip Hop Music isn’t just ‘ a black thing’. It’s a movement.

    Black folks are regular folks who want to go out and mingle with the white folks, latinos, and whomever else happens to share their taste in music, movies, food, etc.

    Pssst, let me tell you something ; when we go out to a nightclub we want to forget the day/week/events that’s bothering us and just RELAX. We want to drink Pierre Ferrand Cognac, (not all of us drink Hennessy) have some white wine or maybe just a good old fashioned mixed drink.

    We don’t want trouble. White people AND Black people hate niggers/nigga’s. They cause trouble for EVERYBODY. Don’t get it twisted. The only way to get to know someone is to talk to them. The neighbors hell bent on closing them do not behave to same way to the patrons of Green Lantern or Parkside.

    Go check them ALL out…

  4. Tell yourself whatever it is you need to help you sleep at night…

    I think, er, I know this is complete and udder BS. The following will fall on ‘deaf ears’ if you may but perhaps those who are
    Many of the Mc Farland residents who complained about my place of employment have/had never even been in their to eat, have a drink for lunch or dinner, or taken a dance class from myself or Becci & Jim.

    At Wed. evening’s mtg, the phrase, your place/the people are like a square peg in a round hole was coined more than 2 handfuls of times. Con Safos is a place where we look forward to going to work, where we are part of a family at work; and above all, we work hard at customer service with a smile which isn’t prevalent nowadays. Due to a shooting that happened between Con Safos and another bar, we are suffering. How does the music take away from the community? Not only did the shooting that took place NOT happen on our property, we weren’t solely playing “that” infamous hip-hop “music”. We play a vast VARIETY of music at Con Safos. Long time residents have made us feel welcome – you’ve most certainly come in over the last 14 months and introduced yourselves and your families and had a drink and have taken in our atmosphere and all our music. Right? Right?

    Why are you all posting anonymously on the local news sites? If you feel so strong and want your voice heard about our well-kept community, why are you hiding? Stand up and be heard about your opinion and don’t give me that “I’m afraid of retaliation” crap you told the news crew 3-4 weeks ago.

    And how are people “getting blasted out of their homes at night?”

    If this isn’t a case of closed minded individuals becoming an angry mob, I don’t know what is. Let’s break these down, shall we?

    Can someone please tell me why Crapp’s Tavern (no, not a typo) next to the library and near schools has well, disturbing patrons at times. They serve beer and whiskey and have had unruly patrons for how many YEARS?

    Why did an argument break out in another Mc Farland bar and what ensued next? A broken bottle, a stabbing, blood, an ambulance and absolutely no press.

    Am I mad; no. I’m disgusted that this so called community thinks we’re uneducated, mindless trouble makers and a bunch of niggers, spics and trailer trash to boot.
    I’m irritated, but not shocked – hate to break it to you but I’m an Asian, African & Native American mixed woman who lives and works in Mc Farland. This community whether people like it or not has Natives, Blacks, Hmong, Hondurans, Mexicans and a lot more who rent, live and work in this community. And you know what? We are a beautiful people and we’re going to KEEP renting, owning property and working in this community; do you know why? Because it doesn’t just belong to you; it belongs to us all who want to prosper, enjoy the company of friends and raise our children here. I’ll be damned if someone tells me “I don’t fit” into this community just because they don’t like the music I work to.

    I want to know what the community music is for Mc Farland since the music we play “takes away from the community?” Does Mc Farland have it’s own anthem or genre that we should place in the by-laws?

    Inquiring minds want to know.

Leave a Reply

